top of page
Search
  • bubblebeecrafts

So it starts!

With the room being clear, we set to work giving it a coat of paint. We were trying to be cost savvy and had some left over paint from the downstairs loo. Green happens to be my favourite colour so was a win win!

Matt gave the grotty ceiling a coat, followed by the woodwork. It made it feel so much fresher and cleaner!



We couldn’t decided what to do with the floor... we had some left over flooring from downstairs but was such a small space, it just didn’t warrant it. So Matt suggested painting it. Again we used stuff we had had from a previous project so cost us nothing! We watered it down so we could still see the wood grain through the paint.



I loved it instantly. You wouldn’t think someone could get so excited about a bit of paint but it meant I was one step closer to having a space that was mine. I love my kids, god I really do, but sometimes I just need to escape and shut the door! The only other time I get to myself is waiting in the car for my eldest to do karate!


Next was trying to get everything back in. I had looked everywhere for storage ideas and clever Pinterest posts but everything was just out of budget. We inherited a beautiful dresser from my Grandad and Nanny Barb when they passed; since we redecorated, it just didn't fit in. We've been using the bottom part and have plans to up-cycle it to fit in with our current decor, but Matt suggested using the top in my room as were just storing in the garage. Up we went with our trusted measure and the buggar didn't fit! It was literally too tight by 5 cm! When it comes to DIY in this house, nothing is ever straight forward and simple!


I think Matt could sense my disappointment. I'm a sentimental fool and it would have meant so much to have something special being used daily. Next thing I know, he's out on the decking with some form of power tool. Now we've been together since school- so approaching 19 years- I very rarely have to say how I feel, I think he can just read my face and body language (or just needs an excuse to get out and hide with the comfort of power tools!)

So, it needed a panel removing from the back. Then the top, shelves and decorative piece needed shortening, and an hour later it was like nothing had happened- just 10cm shorter in width.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page